Jump to content

Al Wilson named to CFB Hall of Fame Class of 2021

Recommended Posts



One of the greatest leaders in Tennessee football history is now one of the most well-deserved members among college football’s elite. His recognition should have come much sooner than it did, but late is better than never.

Al Wilson was announced as part of the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2021. There were 13 members in this year’s class, including 11 players and two head coaches.

With Wilson’s induction, Tennessee football now has 25 members overall in the Hall of Fame, 21 of whom went in as players and four of whom went in as coaches. The most recent member was Peyton Manning in the 2017 class.

A four-year linebacker with the Vols from 1995 to 1998, Wilson was part of what was by far the most successful four-year run in the modern era of UT history. He helped the Vols to a 45-5 record, four straight 10-plus win seasons, four straight top 10 finishes, back to back SEC Championships and a national championship in 1998.

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now